Friday , June 21 2024
Home / World Marijuana News / D.C. Now Accepts Medical Marijuana Patient Cards from 27 States

D.C. Now Accepts Medical Marijuana Patient Cards from 27 States

DC Marijuana
Washington D.C. has been highly selective as to which out-of-state medical marijuana patient cards it will accept. Fortunately, the district just increased the list from 19 states to 27, and more states are being considered.

Eventually, Washington D.C. could become fully reciprocating. But, for now, it’s being careful as to which medical marijuana patients it will serve from across the country, Curbed DC reported.

According to Mayor Muriel Bowser, the move is an attempt to put more focus on patients. Leaders in D.C., including Bowser, are pushing to legalize recreational marijuana and see the expansion of medical marijuana access as a step toward full legalization.

“It ensures medical marijuana patients from other states can obtain their needed medicine,” Bowser said. “It will also promote public safety by allowing visitors to obtain their medicine at one of the District’s six—soon to be seven—authorized dispensaries rather than forcing them to go without or patronizing the illegal market.”

Medical marijuana patients from these states can now use their cards in D.C.:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Washington State
  • Vermont

Louisiana, Minnesota, Oklahoma and West Virginia are currently being considered.